Connecticut Cracks Down on Unsafe Driving in 2012
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Mar 25, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
One of the state of Connecticut’s new year resolutions for 2012 include curbing the number of drunk driving related incidents in the area. When the first of January chimed in, so did more severe laws regarding drunk driving. Their ‘Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over’ campaign is taking a tougher stance with more serious consequences for individuals found to be driving under the influence in Connecticut.
Drunk drivers in Connecticut will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their cars for up to twelve months, even if it is their very first drunk driving conviction. The ignition device requires that the motorist take a breathalyzer in order to start their car’s engine.
Drivers will be responsible for the $75 a month to rent the device and will have to shell out another $20 to recalibrate it every other month as well. If that’s not enough, there’s a $100 charge simply to install the device on the vehicle. These charges will quickly add up for drunk drivers. Prior to 2012, these types of consequences were reserved for second time offenders. However, the state did shorten the length of time a motorist will have their license suspended from 12 months to 45 days.
Connecticut car insurance companies should rejoice in this, as claims should be reduced. According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), these ignition devices have a 67% decline against repeat drunk driving offenders. This reduction in claims will not only save local auto insurance companies money, but often that savings trickles down to car insurance policy holders as well. This makes car insurance more affordable and driving in Connecticut much safer.
This move to curb repeat drunk driving is just one of many ways the state of Connecticut is trying to make driving safer. The state already bans handheld mobile phones and devices from being used while driving. No talking, texting or web surfing allowed for motorists driving through this state. Even though this law has been in effect for a while, Connecticut has chosen to raise the fines associated with texting in driving in 2012. The price goes up $25 to $125 for the first offense and up $100 to $250 for the second time caught, and raised $200 to a $400 fine for third time offenders.
The Connecticut Insurance Department has a helpful section of their website dedicated to answering questions about car insurance in Connecticut. There is also a link that discusses the types of things that could affect the cost of an auto insurance premium. This information can help drivers to save money each year on what they pay for car insurance.