In 2011, the state of Kansas took measures to discourage residents of the state from driving without the proper car insurance. Kansas car insurance is required for each and every driver in the state and is mandated by the Kansas Insurance Department. Minimum must include liability coverage with at least $25,000 per person in injury, $50,000 per accident for injuries and at least $10,000 for property damage costs.
In addition to the liability insurance, Kansas drivers must also carry personal injury protection and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. While all states have some level of minimum requirements for auto insurance, Kansas has a fairly comprehensive minimum package for motorists.
Even so, one in every ten Kansas drivers is found to be operating a vehicle illegally by not purchasing the mandated insurance policies. This turns around and ends up directly affecting the cost of car insurance premiums in the state. To keep costs low, Kansas implemented two new pieces of legislation in 2010 – the “no pay, no play” law and restrictions to the “crash tax” mode of collecting money for emergency personnel.
Since Kansas is a no fault car insurance state, drivers are capable of filing a lawsuit against another driver for damages. However, the “no pay, no play” clause would limit a motorist’s ability to sue if they are not carrying the legal amount of insurance required by the state of Kansas. Driver who have fulfilled all the Kansas car insurance requirements are allowed to sue for both economic and noneconomic costs in relation to an accident.
This means they may get reimbursed for both medical and property damage and also pain and suffering types of payment. Those not carrying the proper amount of insurance? They will only be permitted to sue for economic, medical injuries and property damage. Kansas was not the first state in the country to adopt this new law and other states are looking into following in the footsteps of Kansas.
Many states have implemented additional crash fees for emergency personnel that respond to an accident. These are amounts charged simply because the first responders showed up. These crash fees are in addition to the amount that Kansas residents are already paying for these services with their taxes. Kansas is now working to do away with these crash fees. Not only do those against crash fees feel like they are an unnecessary burden on Kansas residents, many feel like they would also be a deterrent for contacting emergency assistance in the case of an accident.