North Carolina Car Insurance Coverage
Insurantly helps drivers in North Carolina understand the auto insurance coverage requirements. If you are thinking about buying a new policy its important to understand the coverage levels you are actually required to carry. Some coverage may not be appropriate depending on various factors.
If you are looking to save money on car insurance having a good understanding of these levels and what options you have is critical.
One quick tip is to increase your deductible. This will most certainly reduce your rate. Of course you should always consult with your local auto insurance agent or company as this example may not be relevant to your situation. If you are looking to compare North Carolina rates feel free to use our simple tools to get a rate quote.
Uninsured Motorists in North Carolina
What are the penalties for uninsured motorist in North Carolina?
- You could pay up to $1,000 in fines
- Your driver’s licence could be suspended
- Your license plates could be confiscated
- This could then add 3 points to your driver’s record, which increases your rate in 30% increments
- If your insurance has lapsed the penalties are less penalizing
Compare auto insurance in North Carolina
Insurantly will connect you with an auto insurance agent after you entered your North Carolina zip code. Explore your options now and find a great rate and coverage that fits your needs. 855-613-0108
Current average car insurance premium in North Carolina $1,221.17
Current average car insurance premium U.S. $1,446.49
How much UM & UIM Coverage should you get?
- $30,000/$60,000, 29% uninsured drivers
- Bodily Injury Liability: $30,000/$60,000 Limit
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 Limit
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $30,000/$60,000 Limit
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 Limit
12 of the 13 original colonies, state’s shores are some of the most dangerous in the world islands/reefs/sandbars,swamps/rich farmland/hills/mountains, tobacco/textiles/furniture, beef and dairy cattle, truck farms, shipping/commercial fishing, lumber,soybeans, melons, cotton, home of Nascar Charlotte,
The Lost Colony of Roanoke Island, Duke University, big on outdoor recreation with 34 state parks, 14 national parks, and attraction parks.
In the state of North Carolina during an accident the injured party follows a “fault” or tort-based system. So if you are the driver who is at fault for the car accident you will bear the responsibility and are liable through your own car insurance coverage for all damages and injuries.
If you were injured during an auto accident in North Carolina and have injuries and damages, you have 3 ways to seek compensation:
- File a claim with your own car insurance company (they will inturn seek to be reimbursed from the at fault drivers’ insurance company.
- File a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver, or
- Seek third party auto insurance claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company directly.
In North Carolina car insurance carriers must assign what’s called a list of SDIP points for drivers convicted of traffic violations or auto accidents they were at fault. Driving safely therefore is an incentive in North Carolina because the more points you have the more you pay on car insurance.
Here is how the points may work:
- Points range from 1 to 12.
- One point will equal a charge of 30%
- A driver with 12 points therefore would receive a 340% increase in rates.
Injured in a Car or truck accident in North Carolina?
You could get a large settlement:
- The driver responsible has car insurance
- He/she was negligent or at fault
- You are still within your state’s limitations (typically 2 years)
Do you have a case? Calculate your settlement For free.
Call toll Free: 855-763-4148 for serious accident injuries and speak with an North Carolina personal injury firm specializing in serious accident cases . 3 minutes to find out if you have a case!
You also might find these pages useful