Connecticut Car Insurance (The Only Guide You’ll Ever Need)
Connecticut Car Insurance (The Only Guide You’ll Ever Need)
UPDATED: Jul 22, 2020
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
Connecticut Car Insurance (The Only Guide You’ll Ever Need)
|Miles of Roadway||21,508|
|Most Popular Vehicle||Nissan Rogue|
|Uninsured % / Underinsured %||9.40%|
|Total Driving Related Deaths||Speeding Fatalities: 278|
DUI Fatalities: 100
|Average Premiums||Liability: $650.94 |
Full Coverage: $1,151.07
|Cheapest Provider||State Farm|
Let’s face it – finding the right car insurance provider can be intimidating.
But joining the ranks of Connecticut’s nearly 2.6 million licensed drivers shouldn’t be complicated.
We get it. Sifting through the vocabulary and terms may seem confusing. Understanding the rules of Connecticut’s roads may feel daunting. And finding the time to do the research? That can be downright difficult.
But at the end of the day, we know that choosing a car insurance provider that’s the right fit for you, your budget, and your peace of mind is important. The good news is that narrowing down your decision doesn’t have to be rocket science – and it’s all thanks to this comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide.
Whether you’re a long-time Connecticotian or a novice, this guide will equip you with everything you need to know before you get behind the wheel and hit the state’s 21,000+ miles of roadways.
From insurance rates to top-rated companies, and from state laws to safety statistics — consider this your “A to Z” auto insurance guide for the Constitution State.
Let’s get started by taking a look at state car insurance coverage rates in Connecticut.
You can also get a head start on comparing car insurance quotes for your area by using our FREE, online tool. Just enter your ZIP code here to begin.
Connecticut Car Insurance Coverage and Rates
Connecticut may be the nation’s third-smallest state, but don’t let its size fool you. Connecticut is not only home to nearly 3.6 million residents, but according to U.S. News and World Report, it’s also home to several Fortune 500 companies, prestigious universities, and a variety industries ranging from manufacturing, bioscience, and financial services.
Connecticut’s natural beauty is recognized as some of the best in the nation, as its breathtaking landscapes will no doubt provide the perfect backdrop for any motorist.
And of course, it’s hard to mention Connecticut without talking about its rich history. As one of the nation’s original 13 colonies, Connecticut is home to many impressive firsts – including the first state to enact a speed limit law.
Whether you find yourself on one of Connecticut’s country or city roads, what you need to know is this – your car insurance coverage matters. Having an understanding of Connecticut’s minimum coverage allowances for your car will not only keep you safe on the road, but it will also keep you on the right side of the law.
Lucky for you, we’ve compiled all of the information you need right here.
So let’s jump right in, and learn more of what is required of all insured drivers in Connecticut.
Minimum Coverage Requirements in Connecticut
Here’s a breakdown of the minimum coverage legally required of all Connecticut drivers:
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 per person|
$50,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 per accident|
|Uninsured/Underinsured||$25,000 per person|
$50,000 per accident
- Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage is used to cover physical injury and property damage incurred to others as the result of an accident you caused.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage covers your own medical bills or automobile repairs if you’re involved in a crash with a driver who is uninsured, or underinsured.
Connecticut is an “at-fault” state. This means that the insurance of the person who is considered to be at fault for the accident will be held financially responsible for any physical or property damage done.
If you’ve ever been involved in an accident, you know that costs can add up quickly — especially if the crash is severe. Therefore, it’s important to keep in mind that these are minimum requirements. It’s never a bad idea to consider purchasing limits that go above and beyond the requirements of the law.
Comprehensive and Collision Coverage are not required in Connecticut, but can both prove to beneficial.
- Collision coverage will cover the costs of any damage done to your car as a result of colliding with another object.
- Comprehensive coverage covers a number of unpredictable incidents, such as severe weather, vandalism, fire, or hitting animals.
Speaking of animals, here’s an interesting fact — autumn is mating season for whitetail deer, which could increase your chances of having an on-the-road encounter with one of these animals. State officials go on to report that, “the National Highway Safety Administration estimates that damage caused by deer accidents results in over $1 billion in annual insured losses.”
Check out the state’s special guide to learn more about how you can prevent collisions with animals.
Forms of Financial Responsibility in Connecticut
Simply put, you cannot drive in Connecticut without having liability insurance. As a result, all drivers must carry proof of insurance in their car at all times with the following information:
- Name of the insurance company
- At least one name on the registration must be indicated as a policy owner, policyholder or named insured on the insurance card. If a vehicle owned by a leasing company, the name of the leasing company and/or the lessor may be listed
- Policy number
- Effective date of coverage (must be valid when the vehicle is registered) and expiration date (not to exceed one year)
- Vehicle year, make or model, and complete vehicle identification number
Failing to carry proof of insurance carries a $50 fine, with a total penalty of $117 when including fees.
Connecticut’s Car Insurance Premiums as a Percentage of Income
Without a doubt, Connecticut drivers want to know how much of their annual income will end up going toward their car insurance premiums.
|Year||Full Coverage||Disposable Income||% of Income|
Our data shows that in 2014, the average disposable income for a Connecticut resident was $58,186, with drivers spending an average of 2.02 percent of their income on car insurance premiums.
The good news for Connecticut drivers is that this represents a lower percentage being paid in neighboring states of Massachusetts (2.20 percent), New York (2.80 percent), and Rhode Island (2.95 percent).
But the news gets even better – when compared to the rest of the country, Connecticut ranks as the 13th lowest in the percentage of personal income drivers are spending on their auto insurance premiums.
Curious to know what percentage of your income that you’re spending on your car insurance premium? Simply input your data into our calculator below to find out:
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates in CT (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
The table below represents the NAIC’s (National Association of Insurance Commissioners) most recent data (2015) on the core insurance coverages:
Let’s take a look at the average monthly car insurance rates.
Additional Liability in Connecticut
Looking at an insurance company’s loss ratio is a valuable tool in measuring its financial health and profitability.
What is loss ratio? Simply put, it’s a ratio of loss to gains – in this case, the losses an auto insurance company is paying out in claims, versus the money it’s receiving in premiums. If an insurance company has a loss ratio that’s over 100 percent, that means the company is paying out more in claims than they are receiving in premiums.
In reviewing the most recent data from the NAIC, we can see that car insurance companies in Connecticut are posting more gains than losses in the following liability insurance categories:
|Personal Injury Protection||74.69%||95.14%||85.46%|
Remember, in the state of Connecticut, your bodily injury liability coverage does not apply to injuries that you or your passengers may sustain in an accident.
This is where MedPay and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) can come in handy – both are valuable add-ons to consider because they help pay for your own medical bills, should you get into an accident. Important information to keep in mind, since 9.4 percent of the state’s motorists are uninsured.
Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
Here’s some good news — getting the complete car insurance coverage you’re looking for isn’t impossible, or intangible. A variety of add-ons, endorsements, and riders can be added to your policy, effectively customizing your coverage to your needs:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Car Insurance
- Modified Car Insurance Coverage
- Classic Car Insurance
- Pay-As-You-Drive or Usage-Based Insurance
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in CT
You’ve heard it before: male drivers get charged more for car insurance than their female counterparts.
But the truth is, that’s not always the case! In fact, a 2017 study conducted by the Consumer Federation of America found that women are more likely to pay more in car insurance premiums than men.
So, how do Connecticut drivers measure up? And are they consistent with the findings of this study?
Let’s take a look:
|Company||Married 35-Year Old Female||Married 35-Year Old Male||Married 60-Year Old Female||Married 60-Year Old Male||Single 17-Year Old Female||Single 17-Year Old Male||Single 25-Year Old Female||Single 25-Year Old Male|
|Nationwide Discover Agency||$2,343.37||$2,370.04||$2,105.93||$2,209.18||$6,485.04||$8,226.75||$2,717.04||$2,921.42|
|Safeco Ins Co of IL||$3,516.76||$3,825.92||$2,706.04||$3,337.15||$17,597.17||$19,837.39||$3,558.72||$3,883.84|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,815.86||$1,815.86||$1,670.41||$1,670.41||$5,517.07||$6,936.22||$2,041.38||$2,342.71|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||$1,810.97||$1,837.61||$1,806.15||$1,800.54||$13,987.79||$22,605.07||$1,970.21||$2,216.01|
In comparing male and female drivers in Connecticut, we found that men do to tend to pay more than women. However, how much more they are paying tends to vary among age groups and marital statuses.
For instance, in comparing 17-year-old males to 17-year females, the difference in insurance premiums can be staggering – with the average car insurance premiums costing an extra $2,000+ for males. In fact, we discovered that Travelers Home & Marine Insurance Company charges teenage boys $8,617 more in rates than teenage girls!
On the other hand, when we comparing married men and women at ages 35 and 60, the average rates are much closer in number – with some premium differing by just a few dollars.
Premium Rates by ZIP Code
Whether we like it or not, where we live can play a huge factor in how much we pay in car insurance premiums. In looking across Connecticut’s ZIP codes, we can easily see that there’s a difference in premiums — some more vast than others.
Wondering how your ZIP code stacks up? We’ve assembled the data in the table below – just scroll through, or enter your ZIP code in the search field.
|Zipcode||Average||Allstate F&C||Geico General||Safeco Ins Co of IL||Nationwide Discover Agency||Progressive Casualty||State Farm Mutual Auto||Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co|
Our research found that ZIP codes in Hartford, Bridgeport, New Haven, and East Haven – all among some of the largest cities in the state – have the highest premiums.
Some of the ZIP codes with the lowest rates can be found in Scotland, Old Saybrook, Windham, Canterberry, Mystic, and Groton.
Most Expensive and Least Expensive Car Rates by City
In comparing premiums from city to city, the same holds true – some tend to pay more than others. We assembled data looking at the top 10 most expensive, and the top 10 least expensive car rates by city:
|Most Expsensive Cities||Average Rate||Least Expensive Cities||Average Rate|
While the differences among the most expensive 10 and the least expensive 10 are not as extreme, the difference between the most expensive city and the least expensive city is significant. Residents living in Hartford will, on average, pay $2,427.76 more in premiums than those living in Groton.
Best Car Insurance Companies in Connecticut
We understand — trying to find the right car insurance company can be confusing, especially when it seems there are hundreds to choose from.
But rest assured, we have you covered! In combing through everything from ratings, to customer complaints, and to costs, we’ve compiled the essential data and information you need to make an informed decision.
Keep reading to see how Connecticut’s car insurance companies measure up!
Financial Ratings of the Largest Insurance Companies in Connecticut
AM Best is well-known for reporting on the “financial stability of insurers and the insurance industry.” An A++ rating is considered superior, and you can see that several car insurers in Connecticut hold that distinction:
|Allstate Insurance Group||A +|
|Amica Mutual Group||A +|
|Liberty Mutual Group||A|
|Nationwide Corp Group||A+|
|Progressive Group||A +|
|State Farm Group||A ++|
|Travelers Group||A ++|
Who are the largest car insurance companies in Connecticut?
Connecticut Car Insurance Companies with the Best Customer Ratings
We think it’s pretty obvious — when it comes to car insurance providers, customer satisfaction is king. According to the JD Power 2018 US Auto Insurance Study, a number of factors influence customer satisfaction. Robert Lajdziak, Insurance Practice Business Consultant at J.D. Power, said this:
“Low prices may attract new customers, but it’s service that keeps them. The auto insurers that increase customer satisfaction across all facets of the customer experience make price just one part of the overall relationship.”
In looking at the Customer Satisfaction Index Rating in the Northeast Region, we see that several companies serving Connecticut – including Amica Mutual, State Farm, and Allstate – carry high ratings, with Amica Mutual taking the top spot.
Complaint Numbers Among Connecticut’s Largest Insurers
On the flip side of compliments are complaints, and we’ve compiled that data among Connecticut’s largest car insurers:
|Company||Number of Complaints||Complaint Ratio|
|Allstate Insurance Group||163||0.5|
|Amica Mutual Group||52||0.46|
|Liberty Mutual Group||222||5.95|
|Nationwide Corp Group||25||0.28|
|State Farm Group||1482||0.44|
Car Insurance Rates by Company
At the end of the day, we understand that cost plays a significant role in which car insurance provider you end up choosing.
In the state of Connecticut, the average premium is $4,618.92.
We decided to stack the top 10 car insurers in the state against that average to see how they measure up. Which companies have higher premiums than the state average, and which ones fall below the state average?
You can see for yourself:
|Company||Average Annual Premium||Compared to State Average (+/-)||Percent Change (+/-)|
|Allstate F&C||$5,831.60||+ $1,212.68||20.79%|
|Geico General||$3,073.66||- $1,545.26||-50.27%|
|Safeco Ins Co of IL||$7,282.87||+ $2,663.95||36.58%|
|Nationwide Discover Agency||$3,672.34||- $946.58||-25.78%|
|Progressive Casualty||$4,920.35||+ $301.43||6.13%|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,976.24||- $1,642.68||-55.19%|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||$6,004.29||+ $1,385.37||23.07%|
|USAA CIC||$3,190.00||- $1,428.92||-44.79%|
In terms of car insurance premiums that fall below the state average, State Farm and Geico take the first and second place spots, respectively — both boast rates that are more than 50 percent less than the state average.
On the flip side, the Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois and the Travelers Home & Marine Insurance Company boast the highest premiums, with Safeco’s rates nearly 37 percent higher than the state average.
Car Insurance Rates by Annual Commute
Here’s a question — does the length of your daily commute impact your car insurance premiums?
In the state of Connecticut, it appears that the answer is…not very much, if at all.
In examining the top insurers in the state, we found that a majority charged the exact same rate, in spite of the customer’s annual commute. For the two companies that offer different costs across commute times, the difference is minimal:
|Company||10-Mile Commute/6,000 Annual Mileage||25-Mile Commute/12,000 Annual Mileage|
Car Insurance Rates by Coverage Level
The amount of coverage you want on your car will undoubtedly have an impact on your rates. We took a look at Connecticut’s major insurers and compared rates for low, medium and high levels of coverage:
|Company||Low Coverage||Medium Coverage||High Coverage|
Car Insurance Rates by Credit History
Depending on your car insurance carrier, your credit score can have bearing on how much you’re paying in premiums.
According to Experian’s 2017 State of Credit Survey, Connecticut distinguished itself as a state with the 2nd-highest amount of credit card debt.
So then the question is, are Connecticut drivers with poor credit paying the price in their premiums? It appears the answer is, yes:
|Company||Poor Credit||Fair Credit||Good Credit|
Our data shows that with the exception of Progressive insurance, drivers with poor credit can expect to pay at least $1,200 more in premiums than their counterparts with good credit.
The biggest difference can be seen in Liberty Mutual — customers with poor credit are paying well over $10,000 in car insurance rates, which is more than twice than what their counterparts with good credit are paying.
Car Insurance Rates by Driving History
It should come as no surprise that a customer’s driving history will have an impact on their premium. We gathered data comparing rates against a clean driving record, one speeding violation, one car accident, and one DUI:
|Company||Clean Record||1 Speeding Violation||1 Accident||1 DUI|
In our analysis, we see that some companies impose much higher rates for certain violations than others. For instance, Liberty Mutal customers who have had one accident pay nearly $8,000 in rates. Compare that to just over $2,500 in rates for Geico customers with the same record.
State Farm customers with one DUI tend to pay the least, at just over $3,000. Compare that to the $7,908.84 price tag for Liberty Mutual customers with the same record.
Largest Car Insurance Companies in Connecticut
Here’s a look at the top insurers in Connecticut, according to market share:
Number of Car Insurance Providers in Connecticut
Finally, here’s a comparison between the number of domestic and foreign insurers in the state:
|Property & Casualty Insurance||Number|
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Connecticut State Laws
Think about it — knowing the laws that govern Connecticut’s roads are just as important as knowing about your costs and coverages.
But finding the relevant information you need to remain complaint doesn’t always come easy.
Thankfully, we’ve done the legwork for you.
You can be confident in your understanding of the rules and regulations all Connecticut motorists need to be aware of.
Keep reading as we take a deep dive into key laws specific to the state:
Car Insurance Laws
From speed limits to cell phone usage, laws on how drivers conduct themselves behind the wheel will vary from state to state. For instance, it is illegal to send text messages or use a hand-held phone while driving in Connecticut.
As technology, landscapes, and populations continue to change, it’s important to stay updated on the most recent developments — as a matter of both safety and compliance.
The state of Connecticut offers an optional “Full Glass Coverage” option that covers broken safety glass (including windshields) with no deductible.
Connecticut drivers who have difficulties finding insurance may find assistance through the Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan (also known as CT AIARP or the “Plan”).
According to the Automobile Insurance Plan Service Office (AIPSO), those seeking to take advantage of AIARP “must declare and certify that they have tried and failed to obtain automobile insurance in Connecticut within the preceding 60 days and have been unable to obtain such insurance at rates not exceeding those applicable under the Plan.”
For additional information, including mailing address and phone numbers, click here.
Automobile Insurance Fraud in Connecticut
Insurance fraud is a dangerous and costly crime. In fact,
the Insurance Information Institute estimates that from 2013 to 2017, insurance companies across the country lost $30 billion dollars annually as a result of property and casualty fraud.
Common forms of fraud can include:
- “Padding,” or inflating actual claims
- Misrepresenting facts on an insurance application
- Submitting claims for injuries or damage that never occurred, services never rendered or equipment never delivered; and
- “Staging” accidents.
Connecticut’s Fraud & Investigations Unit investigates all allegations of fraud, with penalties that can include fines, probation, suspension or revocation of licenses issued by the Department. Visit the unit’s page to learn more about how you can report instances on fraud online, or via email.
Statute of Limitations
A statute of limitations is the maximum amount of time that you have to take legal action following an accident.
In the state of Connecticut, the statute of limitations for car accidents is two years — whether that’s for an injury claim, or a property damage claim.
If the car accident led to someone’s death, and the family of the deceased wants to bring about a wrongful death claim, the statute of limitations is also two years. However, the “clock” starts from the date of the victim’s death, which may have occurred after the date of the accident.
Vehicle Licensing Laws in Connecticut
It pretty much goes without saying — as long as you’re driving a car in Connecticut, you need insurance and you need a license.
Going without one, or both can result in some serious consequences — including fines and suspensions.
When it comes to licenses, Connecticut is one of many states in compliance with the US Department of Homeland Security’s REAL ID Act. Passed in Congress in 2005, the act
“…established minimum security standards for state-issued driver’s licenses and identification cards and prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for official purposes licenses and identification cards from states that do not meet these standards.”
If your license isn’t compliant with the REAL ID Act, it won’t be accepted at most federal facilities, or to get through security at airports. The good news for Connecticut drivers is that the Department of Motor Vehicles has standards in place to make sure your ID meets the criteria.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
|First Offense||Second Offense|
Suspended registration/license for one month
Suspended registration/license for six months
Driving without car insurance in Connecticut not only carries a fine of $100 to $1,000, but the Department of Motor Vehicles will also move to suspend the owner’s registration and license for:
- One month for a first conviction, and
- Six months for subsequent convictions
Once the driver has provided evidence of having insurance, he or she must also pay a $175 restoration fee.
Teen Driver Laws in Connecticut
While some states allow teens to begin earning their permit at the age of 15, that’s not the case in Connecticut. The earliest young drivers in the Constitution state can begin driving with a permit is at 16 years old.
While driving with a learner’s permit:
- Drivers can only be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or qualified trainer
- All passengers must use seat belts
- Drivers cannot use cell phones (even if hands-free) or other mobile electronic devices while driving.
For the first six months, the newly-licensed driver cannot have any passengers in the car except for:
- A licensed driving instructor
- A parent or legal guardian with a valid driver license, or
- A person providing instruction who is at least 20 years old and has held a license with no suspensions for the last four years.
Finally, until the driver turns 18:
- He or she may not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless it’s for employment, school, religious activities, or medically necessary activity.
For a complete list of exemptions and rules, visit this Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles page.
Older Driver License Renewal Procedures
Connecticut has specific renewal processes and procedures for drivers who are 65 and older:
- They must renew their license in person every two years.
- A vision test may be required if a physician or DMV personnel consider it necessary.
- A written test is required at his or her in-person renewal if the license has been expired for two or more years. (A written test may be required if the DMV determines it is a necessity).
- A road test is also required if the license has been expired for two or more years. (A road test may be required if the DMV determines it is a necessity).
The DMV may determine that certain restrictions need to be placed on a driver’s license. While the most common restrictions for older drivers involve wearing glasses or corrective lenses, others may include no nighttime driving, no freeway driving, or wearing hearing aids.
New Connecticut driver? No problem!
If you’re new to the state of Connecticut, the Department of Motor Vehicles asks that you transfer your out-of-state license to Connecticut within 30 days of establishing residency.
Here’s what you need to know:
- New drivers will need to visit a Department of Motor Vehicles Hub Office to take a vision test, and any other knowledge or road tests as deemed necessary by the licensing agent.
- Drivers will need to bring their current out-of-state license, as well as acceptable forms of identification.
- Be prepared to pay a $40 application fee, and a $72-$84 licensing fee.
For a full list of specifications and requirements, visit this Department of Motor Vehicles page.
Rules of the Road in Connecticut
If you’re like most drivers, it’s important that you’re adhering to the law each time you get behind the wheel.
And when one considers a state’s specific laws — like at what age children need to be in rear-facing seats, or if you’re required to move over for emergency vehicles — they can vary across the country.
But have no fear — we’re breaking down Connecticut’s rules of the road for you, right now:
Fault vs. No-Fault
Don’t forget — Connecticut is an “at-fault” state, meaning that the insurance of the person who is considered to be at fault for the accident will be held financially responsible for any physical or property damage done.
Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws
Under Connecticut law, all passengers ages 8 and older — and in the front seat — must wear a seatbelt. The minimum fine for a first-time offense is $50.
Passengers who must be in a child-safety seat include:
- Children younger than 2, or less than 30 pounds, in a rear-facing child restraint
- Children ages 2-4 years or between 30-40 pounds, in a forward or rear-facing child restraint
- Children 5-7 years or between 40-60 pounds, in a forward or rear-facing child restraint or a booster seat secured with a lap and shoulder belt
Connecticut law also prohibits anyone under the age of 16 from riding in the cargo areas of pickup trucks, unless he or she is belted.
Keep Right and Move Over Laws
Connecticut’s “Keep Right” law asks that drivers remain in the right lane if they would otherwise impede faster drivers, or if they would prevent other drivers from trying to pass.
The state’s “Move Over” law requires that any driver who encounters a stationary or slow-moving emergency vehicle (including tow trucks) slow down, and vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle if at all possible.
Here are the maximum speed limits for roads in Connecticut:
|Type of Road||Speed Limit|
|Rural Interstates||65 mph|
|Urban Interstates||55 mph|
|Other Limited Access Roads||65 mph|
|Other Roads||55 mph|
Ridesharing in Connecticut
Those who drive for a ridesharing company like Uber or Lyft have increased opportunities to purchase insurance policies. In the state of Connecticut, rideshare drivers are able to purchase policies from Geico, Liberty Mutual, or State Farm.
Automation on the Road
No, it’s not an episode of “The Jetsons” — but Connecticut is one of several states testing out driver-less cars, also known as autonomous vehicles.
In fact, we learned that the state launched a Fully Autonomous Vehicle Testing Pilot Program in 2018, with several vying for the opportunity to test out self-driving vehicles.
Safety Laws in Connecticut
Fact: remaining safe is a top priority for any driver hitting the road in Connecticut.
The Constitution State has a number of specific laws dealing with DUIs and distracted driving. Here’s a closer look:
Driving Under the Influence (also known as “Operating Under the Influence” in Connecticut) is strictly prohibited.
And here are some interesting facts about legal limits in Connecticut:
- If you are under 21 years of age, you are legally intoxicated at a 0.02 BAC or higher.
- If you are 21 years of age or older, you are legally intoxicated if your BAC is 0.08 or above.
Needless to say, driving under the influence carries a hefty set of offenses including fines and prison time:
|Number of Offense||Fines||Prison Time, Probation, and Community Service|
|First||$500-$1000||Either (1) mandatory minimum two days, up to six months or |
(2) up to six months suspended.
Probation requiring 100 hours of community service
|Second||$1000-$4000||Mandatory minimum of 120 consecutive days, up to 2 years.|
Probation with 100 hours of community service.
|Third||$2000-$8000||Mandatory minimum of one year, up to 3 years|
Probation with 100 hours of community service.
Distracted Driving Laws
It is illegal to send text messages or use any hand-held phone while driving in Connecticut.
In addition, drivers who are under 18 are subject to a complete ban of all cell phone and mobile electronic device use while behind the wheel.
While there are some exceptions, they are very specific:
- Cell phones may be used by a driver of any age in an emergency situation to contact an emergency response operator, a hospital, physician’s office, health clinic, ambulance company, or fire or police department.
- Drivers who are 18 and older and are peace officers, firefighters or ambulance drivers may use hand-held phones or electronic devices while performing their official duties.
Driving in Connecticut
We’re still not done telling you everything you need to know about driving in the state of Connecticut!
If you want to learn more about car theft statistics, road fatalities, teen drinking, and EMS response times in Connecticut — keep reading.
Car Theft Statistics
According to the FBI, Hartford and Bridgeport had the highest number of motor vehicle thefts in 2016, with 773 and 734 cars stolen, respectively.
Below, we’ve compiled data reflecting the top 10 vehicles that have been stolen in the state of Connecticut:
|Rank||Make and Model||Year of Vehicle||Thefts|
|6||Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee||2000||110|
Through our research, we’ve discovered a number of fatality trends throughout the state of Connecticut. We’ve compiled data that sheds light on the number of fatalities that have occurred in various weather conditions, circumstances, and locations.
Keep reading for an in-depth look at these stats:
Fatalities by Weather Condition
|Weather Condition||Daylight||Dark, but Lighted||Dark||Dawn or Dusk||Other / Unknown||Total|
Fatalities (All Crashes) by County
Traffic Fatalities by Road Type
Fatalities by Person Type
|Light Truck - Pickup||13||7||16||11||17|
|Light Truck - Utility||37||18||27||36||25|
|Light Truck - Van||4||2||4||9||2|
|Light Truck - Other||2||0||0||0||1|
|Bicyclist and Other Cyclist||3||4||3||6||3|
Fatalities by Crash Type
|Total Fatalities (All Crashes)||286||248||270||304||278|
|Involving a Large Truck||20||21||37||30||23|
|Involving a Rollover||41||35||41||39||38|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||165||145||147||164||144|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||78||51||54||65||71|
Fatality Trends in the Top 10 Counties Over the Last Five Years
|New Haven County||63||52||65||82||75|
|New London County||29||31||29||27||28|
Fatalities Involving Speeding by County
Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver (BAC= .08+) by County
Teen Drinking and Driving
In 2016, the rate of Connecticut’s alcohol-impaired driving deaths for drivers under the age of 21 was 0.9 for per 100,000 population. This was lower than the national average of 1.2 fatalities per 100,000 population.
Our data also shows that in 2016, 41 Connecticut drivers under the age of 18 were arrested for DUI, at a rate of 54.43 people per million people.
Remember — under Connecticut law, if you are under 21 years of age, you are legally intoxicated at a 0.02 BAC or higher.
Connecticut state law dictates severe consequences for teenagers who are found to be driving under the influence (also known as Operating Under the Influence):
- Police will seize the young driver’s license, often towing his or her car
- Officers will keep the license for 48 hours, and automatically suspend it
- The driver’s legal guardian must appear in person to sing for and retrieve the youth’s license
EMS Response Times
Finally, we’ve compiled data comparing EMS response times on urban and rural roads:
|Road Type||Time of Crash to EMS Notification||EMS Notification to EMS Arrival||EMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival||Time of Crash to Hospital Arrival||Total Crashes|
Transportation in Connecticut
What’s the typical commute time for drivers in Connecticut? And, how many vehicles does the average Connecticut resident own?
As we wrap up this comprehensive guide, we’re shedding more light on the typical Connecticut driver.
Did you know that 40 percent of Connecticut households own two cars? That is followed by three-car households (23 percent) and one-car households (20 percent).
And, did you know that the average commute time for a Connecticut driver is 25.1 minutes? This is actually a few minutes shorter than the national average of 25.5 minutes.
But it doesn’t stop there — an estimated 3.2 percent of Connecticut drivers have what’s considered a “super commute” drive-time of over 90 minutes.
Finally, did you know that most Connecticut drivers prefer to “go it alone?” Statistics show that 78.3 percent of Connecticut drivers tend to drive by themselves, compared to just 7.85 percent of drivers who carpooled.
It’s official — you’ve made it to the end of our comprehensive guide, covering everything you need to know about car insurance in Connecticut.
You are now more prepared than ever to make an informed decision about the best coverage to fit your needs and your budget. You are also ready to hit the road with a greater understanding of the state’s laws and policies.
Now it’s your turn. Get your FREE car insurance quote today by entering your ZIP code into our rate tool.