Marissa Hayes is a technical editor and contributing writer. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in history, and she was the editor of the literary magazine, The Bluestone Review.

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years. He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Car Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Apr 11, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

The Short of It

  • On average, drivers can get up to 12 points on their license before it’s suspended
  • State laws determine how many points are applied to your license for each offense
  • The more points on your driver’s license, the higher your car insurance rates will be

How many points can you get on your license? Depending on where you live, you can have up to 44 points on your license before you lose driving privileges. However, most states will suspend a license after 10-12 points. How long points stay on your record also depends on where you live.

How many points do you have on your license? We can help answer that. State laws determine how many and when points are applied to your license, and our guide will break down speeding ticket points, DUI/DWI points, and more to help you determine how many points you have. 

The more points you have, the higher your auto insurance rates. You may be considered a high-risk driver until points expire from your driving record. How long you have to wait varies by state. Keep reading to find out how to get points off your license and where you can buy affordable high-risk auto insurance in the meantime.

How long do points stay on your driving record?

How long points stay on your driving record depends on where you live and the kind of infraction you’re charged with. More serious offenses will incur more points than a minor infraction. For example, reckless driving can rack up double or triple the points of a minor offense, like running a stop sign. 

How many points is a speeding ticket? Depending on where you live, speeding tickets collect two points, on average.

However, if you live in Colorado, speeding tickets are four points. One speeding ticket can put you halfway there when license suspension starts with nine points in Colorado.

How many points for a speeding ticket? How many points are on your license? Search the table below for your state. You’ll also see how long points stay on your license.

StatePoints on License for Speeding TicketPoints on License for DUI, Reckless DrivingPoints For SuspensionHow Long Points on License Stay on Record
Alabama26122 years
Alaska210121 year
Arizona2881 year
Arkansas12143 years
California13439 months (3 years 3 mos)
Colorado4129N/A
Connecticut15103 years
Delaware26142 years
Florida36125 years
Georgia16152 years
Idaho14123 years
Illinois555155 years
Indiana28222 years
Iowa2635 years
Kentucky36125 years
Maine28121 year
Maryland11283 years
Massachusetts25N/A6 years
Michigan26127 years
Montana21583 years
Nebraska112155 years
Nevada18121 year
New Hampshire26123 years
New Jersey28125 years
New Mexico28121 year
New York211111.5 years
North Carolina15123 years
North Dakota124123 years
Ohio26122 years
Oklahoma14103 years
Pennsylvania2561 year
South Carolina26122 years
Tennessee18152 years
Texas2373 years
Utah35802003 years
Vermont28102 years
Virginia36185 years
Washington, D.C.36102 years
West Virginia28125 years
Wisconsin26125 years
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Compare RatesStart Now →

If you live in Massachusetts, DMV points are only used for insurance purposes. License suspensions and revocations are decided on a per-case basis based on the offense and your driving record.

Can’t find your state on the table? The following nine states don’t use DMV points:

  • Hawaii
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Washington
  • Wyoming

Instead of points, drivers in these states will automatically lose their licenses when charged with major traffic violations, including reckless driving and DUIs.

Other states will drop points from your license, but the infraction will stay on your record permanently. If you live in the following states, expect to pay more for car insurance after a speeding ticket: 

  • Alabama
  • Colorado
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • Ohio

Local insurance companies in these states will always be able to see what’s on your record, no matter how far back they look. However, you can still find affordable car insurance rates when you comparison shop online with multiple companies. 

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Do points on your license impact car insurance rates?

All traffic violations can raise your car insurance rates. Certain companies offer perks, such as accident forgiveness, to help first-time offenders avoid increased rates right away. But if you have multiple points on your license, you may be considered a high-risk driver. 

How much does high-risk car insurance cost? Take a look at the table below to see how different offenses impact auto insurance rates:

Traffic Violations and Their Impact on Insurance Rates

Traffic ViolationIncrease in Insurance Rate
At-Fault Accident$569
DUI$971
Speeding$353
Texting While Driving$321
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Compare RatesStart Now →

Even one speeding ticket can drive up your rates by $300 or more. If you need to find more affordable car insurance after a ticket, try getting quotes from at least three different companies before you buy. The statistics car insurance companies track can vary, and you may find one company doesn’t consider your traffic violation as serious as another. 

As you can see in the table below, average auto insurance rates vary by company:

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates Based on Driving Record

CompaniesAverage Annual Rates with a Clean RecordAverage Annual Rates with 1 Speeding ViolationAverage Annual Rates with 1 AccidentAverage Annual Rates with 1 DUI
Allstate$2,210$2,498$2,997$3,128
Farmers$2,424$2,893$3,087$2,678
GEICO$1,097$1,097$1,546$2,301
Liberty Mutual$3,344$3,633$3,922$6,427
Progressive$2,922$3,472$4,934$3,252
State Farm$1,996$2,199$2,402$2,199
Travelers$1,880$2,433$2,089$2,614
USAA$1,109$1,220$1,459$2,048
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Compare RatesStart Now →

GEICO won’t raise your rates for one speeding ticket, but Liberty Mutual and Allstate charge $300 more. However, a DUI on your record will double your rates with nearly every insurer. That’s because DUIs often result in immediate license suspension in most states. In addition, drivers with a suspended license need SR-22 car insurance to be reinstated, which will automatically increase your rates.

How do you get points off your license?

Fortunately, in most states, points automatically disappear after a few years. More serious offenses will last longer, but overall you can expect points to stick around for three to five years.

Figuring out how to get points off your license in your state is more difficult. Most states don’t have point reduction programs, and drivers have to wait for a year or more before paying standard car insurance rates again. In the meantime, you can slowly move from high risk to standard car insurance by driving a safer vehicle and improving your credit score. 

In states with point reduction programs, drivers can take defensive driving courses to remove DMV points.

Drivers must complete courses within three to five years of the infraction, and the DMV must approve programs to apply to your driving record. These programs send proof of completion directly to the DMV on your behalf to remove those points as quickly as possible.

Where can you find out how many points you have on your license?

Visit your local DMV to get a copy of your driving record. You can also request a copy over the phone or email, but it will take longer. The DMV will also connect you with appropriate defensive driving programs.

How many points can you get on your license?

On average, drivers can have up to 12 points on their license before it’s suspended. However, DMV point requirements vary by state. So check with our local DMV if you’re curious about how many points you have on your license.

In general, speeding tickets will add two points to your license. Reckless driving adds another six points on average.

Drivers with few or no points on their license pay the lowest car insurance rates. However, if you have multiple infractions on your driving record or had your license suspended in the past, insurance companies will consider you a high-risk driver. 

You’ll pay more for car insurance — high-risk drivers with DUIs pay $266 per month on average. But the good news is that points will not stay on your record forever. Points expire after three to five years in most states, and you will start to see your insurance rates go down. In the meantime, consider taking a defensive driving course and improving your credit score to lower your car insurance rates.