Marissa Hayes is a technical editor and contributing writer. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in history, and she was the editor of the literary magazine, The Bluestone Review.

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years. He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Car Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Nov 22, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

People driving without insurance are more than just a hazard and risk to themselves, but also to everyone else on the roadways. Drivers that do not carry the necessary minimum insurance amounts often cannot pay for damages they may cause in a collision. This forces insured drivers to tap into their uninsured motorist coverage or worse, pay for the damages out of pocket. Often these situations get thrown into civil court for damage costs to be determined, if possible. The higher a state’s uninsured motorists percentage is, the more car insurance premiums will have to be to compensate for the monetary damages caused by drivers who are not insured.

Nebraska car insurance law clearly states that drivers must be insured if they register a vehicle within the state. However, many residents are finding loopholes that allow them to purchase insurance initially, but then drop it for twelve months until they have to register the car again.

Many states are presenting new legislation or implementing new rules that will further discourage drivers from not insuring their vehicles. In Nebraska, Senator Scott Lautenbaugh is supporting a bill that would force law enforcement officers to impound cars when the driver cannot present current proof of insurance when asked. The Nebraska Department of Insurance regulates and provides information on car insurance in the state.  In the city of Omaha in 2010, over 7,000 drivers were not able to provide adequate proof of insurance. Not only would impounding vehicles benefit the area by discourage motorists from driving uninsured, this bill would also provide a monetary benefit to the local Nebraska government.

The new bill in Nebraska, Bill 803, suggests that drivers who are not able to provide proof of insurance in a car accident be guilty of a Class II misdemeanor. If there is a similar offense on file anytime within the last 12 years, the offense would jumped up to a Class I misdemeanor automatically. Suspension, revoking the driver’s license and other penalties could come into play for drivers who frequently fail to maintain car insurance.

Impounding the car will become a common reaction for police officers who pull over uninsured drivers. Impounded cars can be pricey to get out of the pound and back in your possession. This hassle is meant to be enough to convince drivers to maintain the proper amounts of car insurance. Whether or not the bill was get passed is yet to be known but other states are implementing similar ideas.