Marissa Hayes is a technical editor and contributing writer. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in history, and she was the editor of the literary magazine, The Bluestone Review.

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years. He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Car Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Nov 10, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

1. How will a DUI affect my Georgia car insurance?

Getting a DUI in Georgia can be very bad to the point that it involves jail time, suspension of driver’s license, and fines. The effect on car insurance will depend on the type of DUI charge (less safe DUI versus per se DUI) and the results of the case against you. the main difference between these 2 types is one is based on the arresting officer’s observation on your behavior and the per se DUI is based on your blood alcohol level.

For the first offense, your license is suspended for 12 months. The second offense is a 3-year suspension aside from jail time, fines and all vehicle license plates under your name to be confiscated, among others. The 3rd offense is 5-year license suspension while the 4th is a felony.

Your Georgia Auto insurance rates will adjust according to the number of DUI offenses under your name by as much as 3 times the original amount. It will take years before you will see a decrease in the rate. Your other insurance plans like health, life, and medical are also affected. To learn more about how a DUI might affect your premium see our DUI Car insurance page.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

2. Who has the cheapest car insurance in Georgia?

It’s hard to say which company offers the cheapest car insurance because the rates are computed based on personal demographics. Factors like age, gender, driver’s history, work history, credit score, and vehicle details are all taken into consideration. You can visit your local DMV or the Georgia State department of insurance for their recommendations. Learn more about your full coverage options.

In 2003, the rates were around $920. This dropped in 2007 by about 0.5%. Since there is a minimum liability car insurance law in Georgia, it should be relatively easy to shop around among the insurance companies online. You can also apply for discounts based on academic record and good driver’s history.

Just know that you will need PIP and BIP aside from the personal liability. The minimum limits for BIP and PIP are minimum of $25,000/person and $50,000 for several persons. Property damage should be $25,000 for every incident or its equivalent. You are not required to get collision, uninsured or underinsured plans.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

3. How much is car insurance for a teen driver in Georgia?

Car insurance for a teenager is about $80 to $150 on the average but this figure can drop or increase depending on personal circumstances. The rate can drop if the teen driver qualifies for discounts as a good academic student. This has a minimum GPA of a B or higher. Some insurance companies also offer discounts to teen drivers who go through comprehensive driver’s education training with an accredited school.

In addition, there are lower insurance rates for younger drivers who choose to drive the right kind of car. A sports car will obviously come with a higher insurance rate than a cheap sedan. Security devices like an alarm system will also be taken into consideration when computing for the insurance rate for a teen driver.

Teen drivers who get caught with a traffic violation or driving offense can see this amount go up to over $200 depending on the offense. In addition, the driver’s license may be suspended and fines will be imposed. Other factors that affect the rate are gender (male teen drivers are charged higher) and location of residence.