Illinois Car Insurance Coverage
One of the best ways to save on Illinois auto insurance coverage is never, ever to drive your car when your insurance policy has lapsed. Even better, make sure you have your insurance premiums billed to your credit or debit card on a periodic basis so you know your policy will never be canceled for failure to pay premiums. Keeping your auto insurance in force always keep your premiums down.
Of course, it also helps to avoid tickets and accidents. Generally speaking, you could pay higher premiums for two years after you get a ticket (depends on how we define ticket however), and for three years after you are involved in an accident—even if it is not your fault.
Every kind of vehicle that has a driver has to be insured before it can be lawfully driven on public roads in Illinois. Whether you are driving a car, a pickup, an SUV, an RV, a station wagon, a cement truck, a dump truck, or a motorcycle on Illinois roads, you have to have liability insurance. And for Illinois auto insurance, you are required to carry insurance that pays even if the other party responsible for your accident is uninsured.
More Coverage Options
If you were to file a car insurance claim some of these may be of importance to you:
- Comprehensive coverage with collision. If you are financing a car the leasing company may require you carry this. Insurantly discusses in more detail on our Full Coverage page.
- Property damage for uninsured motorists
- Parts and equipment. (key with most insurance companies)
Compare auto insurance in Ilinois
Insurantly will connect you with an auto insurance agent after you entered your Illinois zip code. Explore your options now and find a great rate and coverage that fits your needs. 888-678-5594
The State of Illinois requires these levels for minimum car insurance coverage:
Bodily injury liability $25,000/$50,000
Property damage liability: $15,000
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury $20,000/$40,000
Illinois state law requires 25/50/20 coverage for all vehicles operated on a public road. This means that the policy will pay up to $25,000 for personal injury for one individual involved in the accident, up to $50,000 for personal injury to two or more individuals involved in the accident, and up to $20,000 for damage to property.
Unlike most other states, Illinois also requires uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. Ordinarily, if another party does damage to your car or person, their policy compensates you. In Illinois, your auto policy will compensate you even if the other driver is not insured or does not have enough insurance to meet Illinois standards. Of course, this means that Illinois drivers pay more to keep their cars on the road.
Do you have assets? You may need more coverage. Call now to get a quote. It’s cheaper than you think.
Low cost cities for car insurance in Illinois
61761: $827 Normal
61401: $836 Galesburg
62301: $840 Quincy
61822: $852 Champaign
What is Illinois Electronic Proof of Insurance?
In 2013 Governor Quinn signed legislation that allows Illinois residents to use their smart phones or tablets to show proof of auto insurance. Illinois joined 14 other states that have this same law. Many car insurance companies have apps for your smart phone. If you live in Illinois you can take advantage of this convenience.
What if Illinois car insurance companies will not give me coverage?
Have you tried to get coverage in the last 60 days without success? The Illinois Automobile Insurance Plan has some options for Illinois residents. Created in 1940 all auto insurance carriers are required to participate in the plan. Your local licensed agent can submit on your behalf. You will need a valid drivers license.
Negligent Driver Laws in Illinois
Comparative Negligence, what is it? Auto accident negligence can sometimes be shared among both parties involved in an accident where bodily injury and property damage has occurred. When both parties contributed to the accident, comparative negligence helps decide how compensation works on the losses.
For example: you are driving over the speed limit down a neighborhood street you normally take home after work. Someone turns in front of you hitting your vehicle causing damage to both vehicles. Both of you contributed to the accident, and whoever your car insurance company is will use the comparative negligence laws to determine liability.
What are the penalties for driving without insurance in Illinois?
If you are caught driving without valid car insurance in Illinois, you may be fined a$500 and have your vehicle registration suspended. Unlike other states, Illinois generally allows you to drive another, insured vehicle while your own car registration is suspended.
If you drive your car after its plates have been suspended for non-payment of insurance, however, you may be fined $1000—and that’s a lot more than it costs just to do the right thing to get your car back on the road.
The first time your car registration is suspended in Illinois, all you have to do is to get an insurance policy and pay a $100 reactivation fee. But if you let your insurance lapse a second time and are caught driving, then your car has to stay off the road for four months and you cannot sell it or give it away—but you have to continue making payments even if you cannot drive your car to work.
Illinois drivers can also take advantage of auto insurance discounts offered for:
- Use the same car insurance company to insure both your car and your house or apartment.
- Drive your car as little as possible. The fewer miles you have to drive to work, the lower your premiums.
- Insure multiple vehicles on the same policy.
- Some companies offer discounts for drivers who have taken defensive driving courses either with a licensed defensive driving course provider or with one of the company’s agents.
And one of the best ways to get the very best & cheapest rates is to compare policies online. Insurantly partners with some of the most respected car insurance companies to help you find and compare rates.
Injured in an Illinois Car or truck accident?
You could get a large settlement:
- The driver responsible has car insurance
- He/she was negligent or at fault
- You are still within your state’s limitations (typically 2 years)
Do you have a case? Calculate your settlement For free.
Call toll Free: 855-763-4148 for serious accident injuries and speak with an Illinois personal injury firm specializing in serious accident cases . 3 minutes to find out if you have a case!