Get Car insurance in Maryland and see how much you can save with Insurantly
Start your Maryland car insurance quote
Competing rates from these and 32 of the most diverse companies
Maryland Car Insurance That Provides You With Money Saving Options
Every Maryland driver has to buy liability insurance with at least 30/60/15 coverage. That means the policy will pay up to $30,000 for bodily injury to any one person in the other car in a crash with you, up to $60,000 for bodily injury for two more people in the other car in a crash with you, and up to $15,000 for damage to the other driver’s property.
Maryland also requires drivers to carry 20/40/15 uninsured motorist coverage. This coverage pays for bodily injury for you or up to two people in your car when you are involved in a crash, up to $20,000 for one person and up to $40,000 for two or more people, and up to $15,000 for damage to your own car. And Maryland requires drivers to carry insurance that pays up to $2,500 in personal injury protection (sometimes abbreviated PIP) to offset doctor bills and hospital costs resulting from a crash.
Full personal injury protection covers you, your family members in the car with you at the time of an accident, and any other non-family passengers in your car who may experience medical bills as the result of the incident.
It is also possible to buy limited personal injury protection that pays up to $2,500 for the medical bills of yourself or family members over the age of 16 who may be involved in an accident in your car.
New residents have 60 days to get car insurance in Maryland. If you wait longer than 60 days to buy your insurance, you will lose any credit against your Maryland registration or license plate fees for money you paid in your previous state.
What Is the Penalty for Not Keeping My Car Insured in Maryland?
If the State of Maryland receives a notice that your auto insurance has been canceled any reason, and you have not turned in your license plates to the DMV, then you are liable for an immediate fine of $150 plus $7 a day until you return your license plates to the state. You cannot cancel a your insurance policy (even if you are moving out of Maryland to another state) without returning your plates without being fined.
This means you have to maintain your car insurance until you you have registered and insured your car in the next state, and only cancel Maryland coverage when you have a return receipt for your old plates from the DMV.
Is Maryland a no fault state for auto insurance?
The State of Maryland has a no-fault insurance in the sense that the insurance companies are liable unless they get their clients to waive PIP coverage. Many car owners opt not to buy high PIP with the average coverage being around $2,500.
In a serious accident, this will be gravely insufficient to cover even just the medical bills. Many do not realize that in Maryland, a car accident caused by someone else will allow the victim or no fault driver to recover twice for lost wages and medical bills with sufficient PIP coverage.
Under Maryland PIP law, there is a 1 year statute of limitation in which claims must be filed. And the date starts from the day of the accident.
(PIP) coverage in Maryland
Maryland requires its drivers to carry PIP coverage (no-fault insurance), which protects accidents, and medical expenses for you and any passengers in your car while you are driving.
Common PIP expense coverage’s are:
- Wage compensation (missing work due to your injury)
- Funeral expenses
- Work injury
Need to Knows For MD Drivers
- Driving without insurance can carry fines as well as losing your license plate.
- 15% of drivers in Maryland are reported to be uninsured according to the consumer research council. This is why the chances of getting into an accident with an uninsured motorist increase. Make sure your insurance policy addresses this statistic.
Uninsured motorist coverage in Maryland can help pay for medical bills if you were involved in an accident with an at-fault uninsured driver. The minimum limits are $30,000 per person / $60,000 per incident.
This coverage is slightly different in that it pays for damage to your vehicle after an accident with an at-fault uninsured driver. The minimum limit is $15,000 per incident.
Car Insurance Companies in Maryland
There are many auto insurance companies in Maryland but there are handfuls that typically come in with the cheapest rates for Maryland drivers. Car insurance rates in Maryland like other states can vary widely among locality on where you live and the type of driver you are, young or older for example and other individual circumstances.
With the average cost of auto insurance in Maryland over $2,000 these carriers have some of the cheapest car insurance quotes:
GEICO – Approximately $1,200 per year
Selective Car Insurance – Approximately $1,400 per year
Nationwide Car Insurance – Approximately $1,500 per year
Cumberland Car Insurance – Approximately $1,500 per year
IFA Auto Insurance – Approximately $1,500 per year
All State Auto Insurance – Approximately $1,700 per year
Cheapest auto insurance in Maryland by locality
Car insurance quotes from all insurance companies can vary greatly by zip code and city locality. GEICO again typically comes in with the cheapest rates by city locality.
Insurantly recommends doing your due diligence when comparing rates. However. Not everyone requires the same coverage and has the same assets to protect. Understand your situation and compare Maryland car insurance policies that meet your needs.
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Maryland
Spanning across some of the larger populated areas including Baltimore that average cost of auto insurance in Maryland can exceed $2,000.
The type of driver you are
Whether you are married or single will have some impacts on how a car insurance company grades your insurance profile.
- How many years have you been driving?
- How old are you?
- Are you married or single?
*These basic driver profiles go into how insurance companies calculate risk.
Young singles and older singles have varying annual rates of car insurance in Maryland. Single drivers in Maryland pay on average approximately $1,600 per year. Younger drivers typically drive more than older drivers and also have less years of experience. This results in higher costs for the younger single drivers in Maryland.
Married couples either have multiple vehicles to insure or just one. The costs therefore for married drivers in Maryland can vary depending on those circumstances. Married couples with two cars for example on average are paying approximately $3,300 per year.
Married couples may not have any children and some may have young children as well as teenage driver. Couples with no kids typically pay the least on car insurance paying approximately $1,800 per year.
Couples with children younger than 13 years old on average pay approximately $2,700 per year. Couples with Teenage drivers on average are paying over $3,400 per year.