The Consequences of Driving Without Insurance in Missouri
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 22, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
As with most states, Missouri drivers are required to purchase a minimum amount of liability insurance in order to meet the legal requirements of that state. Drivers must be able to present proof of that insurance, usually an insurance card, to law enforcement officers when requested to do so. Even if a car is registered, but never driven, motorists in Missouri must obtain the liability insurance to maintain their legal standing. In fact, Missouri car insurance laws give authorities permission to ticket both the driver and the owner of the vehicle if proper proof of insurance is not submitted when requested.
The Missouri Department of Insurance has implemented severe penalties for drivers who fail to obtain enough car insurance. Even if the vehicle is insured, failure to provide proof of insurance could lead to a four point traffic convention, an order of supervision by the courts to monitor whether the car is insured, or even an order to suspend the driver’s license. Eight points in an 18 month period is all it takes for a Missouri driver to lose their driving privileges in this state.
If, for some reason, a driver manages to get their license suspended for not having adequate auto insurance, the first offense is minor. First suspension drivers in Missouri will need to provide proof of car insurance and a $20 reinstatement fee to regain their driving privileges. If it happens again, it could be a 90 day waiting period and up to $200 with proof of insurance to be able to drive again. Third time offenders have to wait a whole year and pay $400, plus provide proof of car insurance, before they will be allowed to operate another vehicle in Missouri. After a suspension, drivers will need to file, and keep updated, auto insurance records for three years with the state’s Department of Revenue to get their license from being suspended again.
Missouri does not mess around with uninsured drivers. Car insurance companies in this state are required to give the Driver License Bureau regular reports on the drivers and vehicles they insure. This is matched with the registered drivers in the state to locate registered vehicles who are not insured.
Drivers who cause an accident, and are determined to be at fault, and cannot pay for the damages because of a lack of insurance may also have their license plates or driver’s license suspended. Uninsured, at fault motorists will have to wait a full twelve months before their plates or license will be reinstated. If the driver has not settled the accident claims sufficiently at the end of that year, they will not be able to have their driving rights returned until it is done.